Anglican Church Women

each day calls us to new heights, new experiences and new revelations of God and God’s purpose for us

We come together to learn,
to reach out to each others in support, and
to share our blessings and our commitment to ministry.

The Anglican Church Women (ACW) is a fellowship of all women in the Anglican Church of Canada and all others who agree with, and support, the purpose of the association.

We are members of the National Board of ACW in Canada.  In the Diocese of Central Newfoundland we are part of the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada which is comprised of the Dioceses of Central Newfoundland, Western Newfoundland, Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and P.E.I., Fredericton, Quebec, and Montreal.

Our beginning - September 18, 1969

The inauguration of the Anglican Church Women in the Diocese of Central Newfoundland
There is a plaque commemorating the event at Holy Trinity Church, Grand Falls-Windsor

We are extremely active in all facets of our church, participating in Parish, Diocese and National Church programs.  Click here for updates on what's going on with the ACW.

Diocesan Executive 2019 – 2022

Position Name Mailing Address
President Dale Butler 21 Dawe Crescent
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL   A2A 2W1
Vice-President Jackie Foote-Dewland P.O. Box 278,
Milltown, NL   A0H 1W0
Secretary Amy Ralph P.O. Box 192,
Botwood, NL   A0H 1E0
Treasurer Rosemary Durnford P.O. Box 136,
Hermitage, NL, A0G 1S0
Past President  Daphne Parsons P.O. Box 30,
Trinity, B. Bay, NL, A0G 4L0

The total number of ACW Primary Branches in the Diocese of Central Newfoundland is now 49. Due to aging population and out migration, some of the smaller branches have had to close. However some of them still help out in the neighbouring parish.

District District Name # Primary Branches District President
1 Exploits 6 Audrey Ann Shea, Appleton
2 Notre Dame 7 Margaret Jenniex, Gander
3 Bonavista North 6 Frances Pickett, Wareham
4 St. Nicholas (Alexander Bay) 7 Ivy Collins, Hare Bay
5 Bonavista Peninsula 7 Marjorie Alexander, Clarenville
6 St. Mary the Virgin (Burin) 8 Shirley Walters, Grand Bank
7 South Coast 8 Jackie Foote-Dewland, Milltown

ACW Constitution

The ACW Constitution can be found in the Diocesan Handbook. Click here for copy of the Constitution for reading / download. That document sets out our structure, objectives, roles and responsibilities as well as the regulations under which we operate.

Aims and Objectives

  • To give women in the diocese the opportunity to unite in worship, learning and offering;
  • To offer support in common interests and leadership;
  • To be a forum and voice for women’s ministry in the diocese;
  • To give members a chance to share faith and fellowship; and,
  • To provide opportunity for participation of women in Parish,  Diocese and National Church programs.

Hierarchical Structure

  • Diocesan Council which provides general direction and leadership;
  • District Branch (regional group of Primary Branches) which promotes programs and gathering relevant to education, learning and sharing of ideas;
  • Primary Branch (the basic organizational unit of the Anglican Church) which fulfils the aims and objectives of the ACW within the congregation and parish.

Click here for a downloadable copy of the service for Installation of Officers.